York Touring Caravan Site, Towthorpe Moor Lane, Towthorpe, York. YO32 9ST

Tel: 01904 499275

    

 

Reviews
 
Independent reviews taken from ukCampsite.co.uk and pitchup.com

Reviewer: Joanne M. Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit: Tent Pitch

Great site, toilet facilities are clean. staff are so friendly. Liked everything about this site so much that as soon as we got home we booked up to go again in July. We are taking our children this time as they can play crazy golf and football golf on site (very reasonably priced). Can't wait. Liked that to use the toilet block you need a key and are kept so clean.

Reviewer: Keith S. Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit: Tent Pitch

Excellent site, with great facilities, and freindly staff. Quiet site with mixture of caravans and tents, clean washing facilities and showers, if very unlucky you may be there on a night when local farm is cultivating at night, but not bad, (but they do supply our food). Ground perfect for tents, no mallet needed, and kept pristine. Close enough to centre, and far away enough to be in countryside.

Reviewer: Amy. Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit: Tent Pitch

We stayed here for the first week of May. On arrival we were directed to the clubhouse to check-in. It was explained that the shower blocks were entrance by key only, and although there was a £5 refundable deposit this made me feel super safe knowing that not just anyone could get into the shower blocks. We were directed to our pitch and show where all the facilities were. If you're looking for a big site with a massive play park and shop stocking everything from milk to ready meals this site isn't for you. The site is small compared to some we've stayed on with around 40 pitches, but this was ideal for us. The shower blocks and toilets were spotless and there is the normal washing up facilities, taps, chemical toilet etc. Just by our tent was a play field which was ideal for our son and niece, both 8 to play and run of some energy. They also enjoyed the mini golf, but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to make use of the cafe facilities at the golf club. Also, not sure if there was wifi as our family went on a digital diet for our holiday! The site is situated about 10 miles outside of York and 3 miles from the park and ride. Monks Cross is a retail park for the park and ride and has 2 large supermarkets with petrol stations and lot's of shops and restaurants. There is also a Tesco express a couple of miles away. The site is near a Army training range and one day there was target practice going on which didn't bother us. I would imagine they don't do this in the summer months though. This is a lovely, well kept site and we look forward to returning in the summer.

Reviewer: Graham B.. Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit: Fully Serviced Caravan Pitch

Excellent site with very clean facilities very friendly staff

Reviewer: Ian M. Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit: Serviced Caravan Pitch

Lovely site. very clean shower and toilet Facilities. Helpful staff. Staff rang me to let me know my awning had blown down in heavy winds

Reviewer: Mrmotorx Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit: Touring Caravan

We have just spent the weekend here at york touring caravan site, brilliant ! that's it review over. Ok a little more depth then brilliant! close enough for everything and yet far enough away from all the hustle and bustle. We stayed at this site primarily to go bacj to the NRM ( national railway museum ) we are not train spotters far from it how ever we could highly recommend a day out here. Back to the site, its spotless and has everything you'll need. We even had a go at football golf and what a laugh we had £2 each then £1 each there after. Access to the site is easy being only 1 mile from the A64, however leaving the site we turned left end of road left again ( this runs parallel with the A64 ) left onto the york ring road and we followed the signs for Leeds back home, I did this although it was slightly longer the roads was good but I was extremely reluctant to try and cross the busy A64 Sunday afternoon with on coming traffic with the caravan in tow and getting up to speed ? All in all we had a wonderful weekend away here and looking forward to our next time in York so we can book in here again without any hesitation. Great site well run keep up the hard work it shows.

Reviewer: MrsGuy3 Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit: Campervan

We stayed at this site for 4 nights at spring bank holiday. We were met on arrival by the owner; Graham who was really helpful and friendly. The facilities were spotless, showers/toilets cleaned daily and overall the site was clean. We had an issue with our pitch due to the horrendous weather. When we asked if there was another pitch available they moved us without question and even lent us an electric hook up cable as our wasn't long enough when we moved. The toilets require a key which you have to pay a £5 deposit. The site is about 6 miles out of York, but easily accessible via a park and ride. Strensall is 5 minutes drive away with a Tesco express and shop at the petrol station. The site itself is in a lovely countryside location, with a bridal path running alongside the golf course so it's easy to access. Be warned though, it's very muddy after heavy rain as we found out when we went cycling. The only thing we'll do differently next time is take our 70cc motorbike with us so that we can leave the van and go further afield. We didn't this time as the site T&C's said no scooters, but when we asked they said it meant children's electric scooters and remote control cars etc. We would definitely visit again and highly recommend the site as we felt welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer: Batman41 (10) Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit: Touring Caravan

Just spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed my stay. Pitches were a good size and toilets and showers were always clean and tidy. The site was well maintained and every one was friendly. Golf course next to site were you book in when you first arrive. £10 deposit needed for keys for showers and toilets but returned at the end of your stay. Short drive to Monks Cross park and ride to go into York- £2. 60 return per person. York a is beautiful city, lots to see and do well worth a visit. Would definitely go again.

Reviewer: Trishswaby (5)     Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit: Trailer Tent

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this campsite & I would like to say I would highly recommend it. Pitches were large, ground was lovely & soft, grass was kept short, it was clean. The showers were spotless & the keys were a good idea to stop youths hanging around the loo's, if you do forget to take them the disabled toilet is always open. The only down side on the showers is that they are push button, which I personally don't like but hay that's me! at least they don't waste water. The owners were really friendly & helpful. The crazy golf was a good laugh! The other people on the site were friendly + there was loads of wild life to watch. It wasn't far from anywhere, we went to Pickering & caught the steam train to Whitby for the day. York was only down the road & there was a lovely Toby Carvery 10mins down the road, which was really good. All in all, I would love to go back soon!

Reviewer: Polar69 (4)  Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit: Touring Caravan

We stayed on this site for the August bank holiday weekend. Booking the site over the phone was quick and professional.

On arriving at the campsite you have to check in at the golf club which is a two minute walk from the campsite. Checking in was painless and we were given a very good map and instructions for using the site.

The site itself is small and quiet. There is a one way system and no speed humps, entry for vans is through an electric gate, operated by a keypad, the rest of the time you can drive through a gate with a height and width restriction. For a couple with no kids the site was perfect, the pitches were level and well spaced with easy acces to EHU points.

The shower block is the right distance from the pitches and is sited with the plate wash and bins etc. There is a huge tesco about ten minutes drive from the site and pubs and small shops in Strensal village itself, as well as a Chinese takeaway. The only problem we had ( and obviously not the owners fault ) was a lack of O2 phone signal, you can only really get a good O2 3g signal in Strensal itself, Orange however was fine.

Reviewer: Barnabys (2) Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit: Touring Caravan

Two adults, two girls 5&7 yrs

Just come back from a great 3 days here, easy to find, pitches are spacious and well drained & level. Met & shown to our pitch by the owner who was helpful.

It was full, but was very quiet & peaceful. Never had a problem with waiting for the showers and they were immaculate and warm with a private cubicle 3 in total as was the toilets and my wife said the ladies was the same high standard.

There is a separate field for the kids to play and they can occupy themselves safely but no swings or slide. On site 9 hole golf course with good greens & fairways with good yardage, also crazy golf for the kids.

Great base camp for visiting York & surrounding attractions. There is no shop on site but there is a large retail park 2 miles away with supermarkets & shops. You can get bacon sandwiches, light snacks etc from the golf shop on site.

Summing up great site & facilities good value and would definitely stay again if visiting York.

Reviewer: Dogruff (1) Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit: Touring Caravan

Great site, well kept, not over policed but its clear the owners keep an eye on things and that pays dividends to suit the majority. I have never found the facilities on our visits to be anything other than clean and user friendly.

Staff and owners helpful and friendly. Tried to help us out when we were short of a piece of waste hose, couldn't so directed us to the nearest supplier.

York is very handy with lots to do, Strensall common is extensive and perfect dog walking countryside. The Blacksmiths at Flaxton did excellent food last time we were in.

I really don't understand where some of the negatives have come from: 'No shops nearby', youve got 24hr supermarkets within 4 miles and local village shops closer. 'water 30m away' the pitches with the taps etc cost more. If theyre empty and you pay you can go on them. And on the subject of open areas for kids, no ball games allowed around the vans. Suits us perfectly.

Reviewer: The Richards Clan (1) Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit: Tent

A great campsite! The toilet blocks were always clean no matter what time of day you went, site well kept. Great having the driving range on site, especially after everything is packed up when your heading home and don't want to leave.

The tent area is well sheltered with huge trees, although perfect for big noisy crows to sit in during the early hours of the morning. Not a moan as that's what camping is all about, the great outdoors.

If I had one very small moan it would be that even if you are in a tent they would like you to lift the groundsheet during the day. Very difficult as normally they are all built into the tent these days and also it would be a real pain to move all the stuff every morning and night. (Only need to lift the ground sheet if staying for longer than 7 days if in a tent)

It should be expected that during the main season the grass won't be tip top condition. I can understand it in a caravan awning but not a tent. Luckily we didn't have to do it as we were only there 4 days.

Overall we had a great time, the site is easy to find with very easy access to all places of interest. A big Sainsbury and Asda close by. Also a Toby carvery. We did the ghost walk which was ok, the bloke kept in character and was funny, but not sure it was worth the money. The York museum is worth a visit and you can be in there a few hours and not know it.

York is a lovely place to visit and I'm sure we'll be going back.

Reviewer: Getabout (5) Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit: Tent

Fantastic clean and quiet site. Loved the fact that you could get a hot sandwich and drink at the golf course next door.

Fully recommend this site but be warned it's some distance from a shop or pub etc. I didn't see a bus pass the site so I can't say if there is public transport or not.

If your looking for a base for York and the surrounding area this would be ideal. Staff were friendly and helpful although I didn't see anyone patrol the site, which didn't matter as there appeared to be no problems.

As an ex-soldier who did basic training at Strensall the distant sound of the shooting ranges only brought back great memories.

Will be going again.

Reviewer: Staniland (9) Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit: Touring Caravan

Slightly annoyed that there seemed to be plenty of empty pitches available that had water and electric hook up points within 10 feet of your caravan (eg you could plug water directly into your van), but the one allocated to us did not. The nearest water point to our pitch 33 was about 30 foot away. (We have two types of pitches, electric hook-up pitches and fully serviced pitches, the fully serviced pitches are £2 extra per night and have a water tap, electric, & tv hook-up & waste water drain. There are two seperate water points for use by all other pitches) Having had my grumble now the positives, site very well maintained clean toilet block and showers. There is a golf course and a driving range and a little cafe that does snacks. We went to the park and ride to visit york £2. 30 each for a return ticket, all in all a nice weekend

Reviewer: SuziQuatro  (1)   Date of Visit: October 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Just had 2 nights at York Touring Caravan site and we will definitely be going back. The site is absolutely spotless, well laid out and the facilities are immaculate.

We had a serviced pitch and the service point was placed exactly right for the side of the van. The pitch was level and had bags of room.

There are only 20 vans so the shower block is ideal with 3 showers so no waiting around and when you get out of the shower the heating means you don't freeze to death.

There is no site shop so take whatever you need with you but there are loads of shops within walking distance in Haxby / Strensall. York is just a short drive or bus ride away.

There are quite a few rules to read but they are intended to ensure you enjoy your stay. We will be going back to this small and friendly site.

Reviewer: Kilgirl  (2)   Date of Visit: August 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Just back from a weeks stay on the site. Had a lovely time. Good location, use the park n ride if you want to go into York. The site is very well kept, peaceful too. Never saw the wardens the whole time we were there, but they were there if needed. Toilet and shower block are spotless, never had to queue. Good spaces between caravans. We visited knaresborough, York, Goathland (where heartbeat is filmed) and loads of other beautiful places, all within about an hours drive from the site. More to see, so we will be back.

Reviewer: BiffyBoffy  (7)   Date of Visit: July 2010  Unit:  Motorhome

We used this site to visit York, which is about 15 minutes away. The reception was at the golf club house where you were shown your pitch and given keys / codes to the toilet block and gates.

The toilet block / washing up facilities were always clean and there was plenty of hot water. This site is primarily a caravaners site so the facilities were higher quality and newer than what we were used to!

There are no shops near by so buy everything on your way in if you’re not staying for long like we did. The club house does have a cafe for breakfast baps and proper coffee.

We didn't venture far off the site but there are plenty of footpaths around the fields.

This site is ideally suited for York city centre and all the other attractions around. 

Reviewer: Thegizmyster  (1)   Date of Visit: August 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Fantastic site, very good toilets and showers. Had a very relaxing break. Only 5 mins from York centre by car and plenty of local amenities as well. Good security and very polite and helpful staff. Enjoyed the driving range while the girls went shopping,took advantage of the 50 balls and bacon butty offer. Will definitely be returning

Reviewer: Jls27d  (2)   Date of Visit: June 2010  Unit:  Tent

This is a wonderful site & the attention to detail is great, it is kept tidy & pleasant & the views of the golf course are lovely. The tent area is neat and not too many units are allowed on at any one time which makes it a very nice stay.

The toilets and showers are kept very clean and there is a nice little room with information, an iron and even a washing machine which you can pay to use. The site is 4 miles from York and is in the middle of the two major shopping centres with a 24 hour super market at each of them. We will certainly be going again what a lovely site the owners should be very proud of themselves.

Reviewer: Mines a carling  (2)   Date of Visit: May 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Just got back from this site, great site in a great location, nice and peaceful, nice and clean. Great little 9 hole golf course and driving range with a nice coffee lounge. Good location just off the a64 about 3 miles or so from York. The warden couldn't have been more helpful, we had a problem with the electric tripping out so he put a electric cable from his house for us, now that's service. Will defo return.

Reviewer: Robin54  (11)   Date of Visit: April 2010  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Lovely site everywhere was so clean, from the toilets to the area where the bins and recycling bins are. We there for 5 nights and never heard a gun shot so it was really quiet and very relaxing

When we got there we were shown to our pitch by a very pleasant man who told us where everything was where we could walk and where not to go, could not fault this site at all.

The site was quite dry considering the weather we have had for the past 4-5 months. Well positioned for York park & ride and the retail parks

Reviewer: Tigerlillyzoe  (4)   Date of Visit: March 2009  Unit:  Tent

Super small site. Best bit was the lovely shower/loos, it was so clean and lovely and warm, you could get out of the shower and not freeze to death.

Boys enjoyed the army training noise in early evening, not too loud. (Army use Strensall Common as training ground, infrequently used, exercises for two or three days a month and only for a few hours at a time, when not in use the common which is a Site of Special Scientific Interest can be freely roamed over, a red flag and locked gates prevent entry when in use 05/04/2009) ,

Owner was helpful and friendly, do nice snacks in cafe and driving range was good value for money.

There is a very nice farm shop not far down the road (turn right as you leave the site, farm shop is not far down road on your left)

There is a huge tesco super store on your way in to York centre. Very close to York centre.

Will be coming back again soon.

 Reviewer: Tonyparkin144  (10)   Date of Visit: February 2009  Unit:  Touring Caravan

On arrival we pulled in and checked in at the reception which is the pro shop for the driving range on site. I was booked onto a super pitch which had water and drainage and should have been an aerial connection (which did not work) but I have an external jockey wheel aerial so did not affect me. (All superpitch TV aerial connections renewed and tested 01/03/2010)

The water supply was great did not freeze and the drainage, even though a little far from the van, very good. The electric being 16amp was great and very reliable.

The toilets were very clean and very well maintained there was hot water but cause of the temperature outside could do with a little more heating in the winter months with them being open all year.

There is not a lot near the site so you have to use your car or get a taxi which cost £15 into York for a 7 seater, so not bad shared between a group of you.
The only bad point about the site is there are a few seasonal caravans and at times we were made to feel uncomfortable by a few of the residents, but to be expected lol

Overall site was good but not enough around it for me, although if you are a golfer you would love this site.

Reviewer: Scuba69  (2)   Date of Visit: November 2008  Unit:  Touring Caravan

Just returned from this excellent site. Booked a super pitch which was great, The water supply did not freeze, despite the temperature dropping to well below zero during the night.

The toilet/showers were very clean throughout the weekend. Pitches were laid out very well each having plenty of space even though the site was almost full.

This site offers everything you could wish for, can't wait to return

Reviewer: Marting1717  (1)   Date of Visit: March 2008  Unit:  Touring Caravan

This was our first visit, and will not be the last. Efficient and friendly reception. Excellent large pitch. Toilets/showers were immaculate.

Our little boy loved the golf range. They have clubs they will lend you.

An ideal site for visiting York.

No negatives

Reviewer: Taviour  (13)   Date of Visit: April 2008  Unit:  Tent

This was our second visit to this site and once again we were not disappointed. There have been a few changes since our first visit in 2005 but none seem to have detracted from the pleasure of our stay.

There are no longer wardens camping on site – however there always seemed to be staff out and about if there are any problems.

The bar has now closed. We enquired about this and were told that it was found to be not used by the site and therefore not viable. There is a beautiful sitting area with TV and magazines in the main reception / golf shop now and food is available throughout the day at the café.

Our pitch was in the main field this time, and it was MASSIVE and benefited from being in the corner allowing excellent views across the site for people watching.

The facilities are spotlessly clean and there are notices up advising users that the water temperature can be adjusted if too hot or too cold. We didn't have to as they were fine for us, even on a cold April weekend.

We discovered the Park and Ride at Monks Cross this stay (less than 5 minutes drive from the site) It’s an excellent way of getting into York saving the stress of driving into York and finding a parking space. The £2.00 each return ‘bus fare’ works out much cheaper than car parks. (Under 16’s travel free.) Monks Cross Retail Park itself has a 24 hour Asda and Sainsburys and a host of other shops, including a dispensing Boots (open until midnight) and a Blacks.

Although we didn’t use the golf facilities this time, it is an excellent place to stay if you enjoy golf or even if you are a complete novice like myself.

We will definitely return to this site again.

POST YOUR OWN REVIEW - Click here

 

 
   

TRADITIONAL YORKSHIRE DAIRY ICE CREAM NOW AVAILABLE We now serve ice-cream in four delicious flavours from the cafe.

Hardstandings offered on more Super Pitches Please ask when booking if you want a full service pitch with hardstanding, there is a limited number so early booking is advisable.
 


 

Disabled Facilities receive A Grade
We have full separate disabled shower and toilet with easy disabled wheelchair access.

9 HOLE GOLF COURSE PROVES A HIT WITH VISITORS
We opened our 9 hole pay and play golf course in 2007 and its proved a great success and has been enjoyed by numerous visitors to the campsite. We ask that children under 10 are accompanied by an adult whilst on the course and to respect other golfers. All golfers must have golf clubs and bag, adults must have golf shoes, juniors are allowed to play in trainers. Clubs and bag and shoes can be hired from the golf shop, Please click here for more information. 





 

 

 


 


Copyright © 2017 - York Touring Caravan Site - All Rights Reserved